

Australian & New Zealand Viola Society Awards

ANZVS Founder's Award

This award was presented to the founder of the ANZVS and for his leadership as its first president (1982 to 2005).

2005 Michael Vidulich

ANZVS Roll of Honour

Recognises violists both living and deceased whose careers in Australia and/or New Zealand have greatly advanced viola performance, teaching, scholarship, composition, instrument making, etc. Note: ANZVS officers are not eligible to receive this award while they hold an ANZVS office.

2002 Keith Crellin
John Curro †
Winifred Durie †
Richard Goldner †
John Gould
Christopher Martin †
Donald Maurice
Elizabeth Morgan
Robert Pikler †
Alex Todicescu
Vyvyan Yendoll

2005 Lawrence Jacks Jaroslav Karlovsky † Peter Pfuhl † Gavin Saunders † Winifred Styles †

2007 Glynne Adams

2009 Brett Dean

2012 Robyn Brookfield Irina Morozova

2017 Gillian Ansell Rodger Benedict

ANZVS Service Award

Recognises outstanding service to the ANZVS.

2002 Olwyn Green Robert Harris Donald Maurice

2010 Anna Brooker

2016 Neil Shepherd

2017 Paul Groh

ANZVS Honorary Membership

Recognises a non-ANZVS member whose career has exponentially furthered the place of the viola on an international scale. (An ANZVS Honorary Member may receive all ANZVS publications, but will have no voting rights and will be exempt from ANZVS annual subscriptions).

2008 John White †

ANZVS International Viola Competition Awards

1992 Tae-Yun Kong 1st Prize, under 21 years old.

Peter Bucknell 1st Prize, 30 years old or younger.

2002 William Lane 1st Prize Claude Chew 2nd equal Prize Helen Ireland 2nd equal Prize

2005 Yilin Zhu 1st Prize James Wannan 2nd Prize Katherine Potter 3rd Prize

ANZVS Viola Composition Competition Awards

2013 William Jeffrey – Winner, Solo Viola (unaccompanied) section
 Chris Artley – Equal Winner, Two or More Violas (violas only) section
 Roman Benedict – Equal Winner, Two or More Violas (violas only) section
 Callum Blackmore – Winner, Young Composer section
 Josiah Carr – Runner Up, Young Composer section

2014 Andrew Aronowicz – Winner,
Solo Viola (unaccompanied)
section
Kate Candy Colbert – Equal
Second Solo Viola
(unaccompanied) section
Thea Adele Zimpel – Equal
Second Solo Viola
(unaccompanied) section
John Dylan – Winner, Two or More
Violas (violas only) section
George Wang – Winner, Young
Composer section (in either
category)

2017 Solo Viola Open Section:
Brad Taylor-Newling – 1st Place
Christopher Healy – 2nd Place
Highly Commended:

Evan Dumbleton Jenna Cave Justin Clarke Kate Candy Colbert John Dylan Richard Paull

Solo Viola Student Section: John Donaldson – Encouragement Prize

Viola Ensemble Open Section:

David Hamilton — 1st Place
Jarvis Miller — 2nd Place
Evan Dumbleton — 3rd= Place
Allye Sinclair — 3rd= Place
Highly Commended:

Iona McDonald Rewa Vowles

Viola Ensemble Student Section:
Blake Scanlen – Encouragement
Prize
Sam Kemp – Encouragement Prize

(and most promising composition in student section)

International Viola Society and other Viola Societies' awards to ANZVS Members

IVS - Silver Alto Clef

2000 Donald Maurice2002 Michael Vidulich

IVS Special Award

2001 Michael Vidulich

IVS Certificate of Appreciation

2007 Keith Crellin

IVS Honorary Membership

2013 Michael Vidulich

AVS Honorary Membership for Life

2007 Donald Maurice

British VS Honorary Membership for Life

2013 Michael Vidulich